JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Oil or
Choose a category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Royal Purple Motor Oil

MOTOR OIL Revolutionary technology allows this oil to adhere better to all metal surfaces Stronger lubricating film significantly reduces friction...even during cold-weather starts
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Review 1 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great promotion
September 30, 2014
By leon
from Austin
"R.P. does what it says very satisfied with product and the price"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 2 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Royal Purple
September 15, 2013
By Bluebgc
from Ridgeland, SC 29936, USA
"When you want a synthetic oil that will perform as required, Royal Purple is the oil you need. Used in my motorcycles, cars and trucks, it's simply the best oil to use. Sure, Mobil 1 is a great oil to use. I had a motorcycle that had a slight "Tap" at idle. I read an article on Royal Purple lubricants. I thought why not try it and see if it will do as it said. With no expectations in mind, the noise was gone within a few miles of running. Used in my truck, the intial start up tap disapeared as well. Great price and shipping."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 3 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ROYAL PURPLE OIL
May 6, 2013
By Anonymous
from PITTSBURGH PA
Pros: JUST GREAT GREAT OIL
Cons: NONE
"THIS IS THE BEST SYNTHETIC OIL I HAVE EVER USED. CAR RUNS SMOOTHER, MORE POWER AND BETTER GPM. USE IT IN ALL OF MY CARS NOW. JUST TRY IT, YOU CAN LEAVE IT IN LONGER THEN REGULAR OIL. JUST THE BEST OIL OUT THERE PERIOD."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 4 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SAE 30w
May 1, 2008
By JLS777
from Shelbyville, Indiana
Pros: 30w Synthetic oil can be used in air compressors/pressure washer pump
Cons: price
"30 weight Synthetic oil is better than regular non-detergent 30w oil for air compressors/pressure washer pumps. 30w Synthetic oil will make your compressor/pressure washer pump last a lot longer!! It doesn't break down like non-detergent 30w!!! Bottom line if you want your compressor/pressure washer pump to last get the old 30w
non-detergent oil out and add this (30w Synthetic oil) in to the proper level. The purple color of this oil will help you see the oil level on the site glass as well. Synthetic oil is the best. The military uses synthetic oil in their tanks. They don't have time to change oil in battle and they want the best. Keep that in mind. This is the only place I know to get straight 30w synthetic oil. Believe me I have looked and not found it. Get extra just in case you may need it. If you just thought about using regular 30w car oil---> DON"T it will foam up in the compressor/pressure washer pump and ruin it. Foamed oil will not lubricate and therefore causes serious damage. Synthetic oil will NOT foam because of the additives in it. Another reason you can add a little extra synthetic oil and it won't hurt. Hope this helps. 32degree Scottish Rite M.M.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the money
January 20, 2008
By Bullrunner
from The South
Pros: Increased performance, and better fuel economy. Sounds like the ad but it's true
Cons: depending on your application price can be an issue
"My car only takes 3 quarts of motor oil, the Chevy gas takes 7 qt. and the two diesels take 15qt and 3qt.diesel tractor due to price the Chevy is the only engine that doesn't get this oil. I have to change oil every 3,000 - 3500 miles the other vehicles can go 6,000 - 20,000 between changes. The nice thing about this oil is you can get the most out of your car and not feel like your going the blow the engine. One car is about 12 years old. It's hard to believe that you can get more performance and better protection. I started feeling the difference in about the first 300 miles. and I'm on my 2nd oil change at 10,000. the oil came out light brown."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worth the money... If you keep your cars
January 19, 2008
By bust7015
from Connecticut
Pros: Engine runs smoother
Cons: Not good if your engine consumes a bit of oil
"As with any product, results vary with user. I have a 99 Durango, 5.2 liter 4WD with 106,000 miles. I used Mobil 1 previous to Royal Purple 10w30 until 70,000 miles. As with Mobil 1, I change the oil every 7500 miles and the filter halfway. My highway mileage increased from 15 to 16 mpg. I changed the diffs to royal purple and it increased to 16.3 mpg. I had a slight stumble at idle for the longest time. (the engine would suddenly drop a few rpms then recover) This problem went away (coincedence?). My valvetrain needed to "adjust" to the new oil. I had valvetrain noises for a few hundred miles after the initial change to Royal Purple. The only real problem is that my engine uses a bit of oil under high RPM or towing conditions. It has for the last 60,000 miles. This condition worsened with the change to Royal Purple. Instead of adding a quart of oil between my 7500 mile changes, I have to add 2 or 2.5 quarts. My next change will be this summer and I am going to try a different viscosity."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got royal purple?
July 5, 2007
By hondafan
from Oklahoma City , OK
Cons: color of oil is to dark hard to tell if its good or bad
"im using this product for the first time in my 2001 honda shadow 750 i have noticed a great inprovment in power, fuel economy and the way my bike runs thanks"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am greatly satisfied
February 26, 2007
By JCWCustomer
from USA
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Prior to purchasing this synthetic oil I was a little apprehensive. But overcoming that fear I am greatly satisfied with the overall results."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Royal Purple Motor Oil
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Royal Purple Oil
July 9, 2006
By Mopar Man
from buffalo, ny
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have used this product in my 99 dakota RT, 70 Dodge Dart Swinger 340 & my wife's 97 Mercury Sable and only have good things to say about this product. Better fuel milage, the engine run smoother and the extended life of the oil saves on complete oil changes. I believe the mfg. states 12K between oil changes (only need to change the filter evry 3K)"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.