JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Accessories & Boosters or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at JC Whitney.

AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER

AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER Increase radio signal strength Receive more stations Reduce signal fade Simply plug booster into radio and antenna into booster. Connect power lead to switched 12-volt power source and your done. For radios with motorola style antenna plug only.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
9 of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Review 1 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
April 12, 2011
By Anonymous
Pros: Greatly reduced AM noise
Cons: None
" I very much like my 2005 Hyundai Elantra which I purchase last year as a "winter car", but the AM radio had bad reception. It was not noise produced by the car as it was worse when driving on secondary roads under utility lines. It was so bad that it rendered the AM band useless on parts of my commute. I did not have high hopes for the antenna booster, but figured for about $20 (incl shipping) it was worth a try. After the simple installation, the antenna booster completely transformed the AM reception. I can now listen to AM radio stations in areas where before AM receptions was useless due to excessive noise. I am 100% satisfied with this product. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
didn't fit
March 6, 2011
By Anonymous
from CT
Pros: not sure if any
Cons: didn't fit
" the plug didn't fit my radio, i'm not sure if it works or not. didn't mention car types, so i assumed it was universal. didn't fit my GM truck with stock radio. oh well, the male plug was too big for the radio. do i need an adapter?? they should mention that. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great
September 22, 2010
By Anonymous
from mass
Pros: made static disappear
Cons: none as of yet
" i put it in my truck only took a about 30 mins. it made the reception worse until i hooked up the power wire to a 12 volt source. i recomend you use a 3 amp fuse in line. after it was all hooked up it worked great. so i bout another and put it in my old pontiac. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made my radio reception worse!
May 30, 2010
By Anonymous
from New York, NY
Pros: None
Cons: Did not work
" When I put this device in line, it made my radio reception worse. I tried connecting the red wire to power and this made no difference. I have an '05 Honda Pilot, and I recommend that you DON'T buy this device for a like vehicle. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
worked good for me.
May 2, 2010
By Anonymous
from Orland Park,Il.
" This piece worked great for me. My FM stations came in much stronger and clearer with more stations and AM clearer also.I installed on a 98 corvette with a window antenna, for the price, you can't beatit. Very happy.Only thing is it could use a inline fuse. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
best $13 you can spend
April 20, 2010
By Anonymous
from brooklyn, ny
Pros: easy installation, no drop outs
Cons: doesn't include a fuse or instructions
" I ordered this product about a week ago and had it installed in less than 10 minutes. For $13 you can't go wrong if you have bad FM/HD reception. I have a Dual XHD6420 with built-in HD tuner and my stock antenna just wasn't cutting it for HD reception. After installing the booster, HD stations didn't drop at all and FM stations stopped fading in & out. One word of caution: do not wire through the power antenna wire or any constant 12v source. Splice the power wire into the accessory wire or ignition wire for your radio & make sure to put an inline fuse in "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST BANG FOR YOUR BUCK
April 10, 2010
By Anonymous
from LOS ANGELES, CA.
Pros: EASY TO INTALL
Cons: DID'NT FIND ANY
" AT TIME OF PURCHASE, I WAS'ENT SURE THIS PRODUCT WAS GOING TO WORK BUT AFTER READING A FEW GOOD REVIEWS AND CONSIDERING THE PRICE, I DECIDED TO BUY IT. BEST PURCHASE EVER. AS SOON AS I HOOKED IT UP I WAS ABLE TO HEAR THE DIFFRENCE RIGHT AWAY. I DID'NT EVEN HAVE TO HOOK UP THE RED POWER WIRE. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't Work
April 6, 2010
By Anonymous
Pros: none
Cons: everything
" It was not getting power when I first installed it, so I thought that was the problem why it did not help the signal. I rehooked it up so it had power and the signal was even worse than with no power. After I hooked it up right it would not even receve the station. "
Review 9 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ineffective
April 2, 2010
By Anonymous
from Hartford, CT
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Did not provide boost
" Had an aftermarket Alpine deck that allowed me to listen to AM radio that originated in NYC 97 miles away. Had to replace it with another, this time a Kenwood that received only one or two of the strongest local AM stations. Purchased and installed this booster in an attempt to receive the same stations I used too and have found no noticeable difference. Receive strong FM either using the booster alone or the booster paired with the car antenna. Found zero difference with the AM. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
never again
March 26, 2010
By Anonymous
from minn
Pros: nothing
Cons: piece of junk!!!!!!
" if thia was 1.00 it would br to much what a piece of junk!!!!!! "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bang for the buck - hard to beat!
November 12, 2009
By Anonymous
from TN
Pros: Amazing performance and easy install
Cons: none
" You simply can't beat this little monster! Installs in about 15 minutes and was the perfect solution for my Cherokee. It actually rivals my BMW's complex "Trinity" system in performance - can't recommend it enough for ANY vehicle!! "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
July 30, 2008
By powerman
from South Carolina
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Everything about it
Cons: some radios are hard to access
" My father recently puchased a used Jeep XJ. The stereo had litterally been ripped out and the antenna wire was almost completly broken off. So during installation of a new system i installed an antenna booster. Even with the partially broken antenna wire we were able to pick up stations that are over 200 miles away!!! It works so good that the seek buttons are useless! It tries to recieve every channel! I've since installed one in all my family's vehicles and boats! We love them. Great product. Thanks JC Whitney. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Best Bang For Your Buck
December 16, 2007
By Mack
from Plantation FL
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to use
" I have had one on my 69' cadi that has a power antenna. There is no need to put it up, this booster pulls in the stations no problem. Years ago I had one on my boat, it worked 15 miles off shore with no antenna. I didn't need to hook up the red wire to anything. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA BOOSTER
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AM/FM RADIO ANTENNA bOOSTER
November 20, 2006
By catchnm
from Cincinnati,Oh
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I INSTALLED THE BOOSTER ON MY BOAT SO ACCESS TO THE RADIO WAS VERY EASY.I ALSO PERFORMED THE INSTALLATION IN MY BARN WHERE RADIO RECEPTION IS VERY POOR AND I COULD ONLY RECIEVE 2 STATIONS. AFTER I INSTALLED THE BOOSTER I COULD RECIEVE 15 STATIONS. IN MY OPINION THE BOOSTER WORKS GREAT ! "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.