JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Back-up Alarms & Monitors or
Choose a category

Product Reviews

TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM

TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM Delivers a train sound automatically when you shift into reverse Delivers a train sound automatically when you shift
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
10 of 12(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Review 1 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor
February 8, 2013
By Henraye
from NY
Cons: low volume
" For the cost to send back, I will keep for conversation piece. With the engine running, I could barely hear the alarm "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 2 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was Great
February 6, 2013
By MacM
from Elmira
Pros: louder than Expected
Cons: None
" It was great,lots if noise, I am using it as a Horn on my M/C LOL Just to be Different ! "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 3 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Train alarm
January 26, 2013
By 1980MGB
from On the highway!
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pros: Easy to install, only 2 wires
Cons: Not verry loud,sound is a little muffled
" Better than the beeping alarms no one pays attention to. My children think its cool!
I have it mounted on my Box Truck I can't see anything when I back up, hope it works to prevent an mishaps!
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 4 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fun way for attention
April 15, 2011
By jbpota
from Bradenton, Fla
Pros: Warning Alarm
Cons: None
" This wonderful alarm alerts people to a vehicle going in reverse. It's a wonderful train sound on tracks with the ringing of bells. My husband and I have as much fun with this as two children at Christmas! Don't hesitate to purchase.....you'll love it. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Train is a Confusing Sound
August 9, 2010
By Anonymous
Pros: it makes alot of racket
Cons: confusing to some as a back up alarm
" I just saw an incident where the person was walking behind a vehicle using this train alarm, and the pedestrian did not know the vehicle was backing up. The Train sound appears to be confusing to some, as people don't know that it's a back up alarm. It does make alot of racket though to get attention. The regular beep beep back up alarm noise on most commercial vehicles is not confusing. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellant TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
June 3, 2010
By Anonymous
from MD
Pros: great product
Cons: slightly expensive
" Good product to have, Nice features "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 7 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Head Turner
January 12, 2010
By Anonymous
from Poway Calif
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pros: Gets Attention
Cons: Not water proof
" I have had this alarm on our Tahoe for 4 years now.It finally quit yesterday 1-12-10.I never hit anybody while backing up.I get people looking around for the train and then they get a big smile when they figure it out.I just placed my order for a new one today and look forward to having more fun with it.I found that a plastic bag is necessary when mounted behind the rear wheel well to keep it dry.Last year at my boys school we were the only one with this alarm,By the middle of the year 2 other cars had it. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
fun while it lasted
September 8, 2007
By Phaser
" Mounted this on the back side of the bumper of my 2006 Ford pickup and wired it into the backup light like instructed. I did this 3 weeks ago. It was a lot of fun while it lasted. It has rained here for the last 3 days. It worked this morning when I went out, but not when I went out again this afternoon. I checked the wiring and made sure it was ok. Turned the unit a little and water drained out of it. Water from the road splashed up into while driving in a light drizzle after a heavy rain. Think the water killed it. Should have been better water proofed if to be mounted under the vehicle like instructed. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 9 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FANTASTIC
April 25, 2007
By DOT42
from Tennessee
" When I originally purchased mine approximately10 years ago, I paid only $9.99 for it. It lasted through rain, blizzards, mud puddles and just about anything you can think of. It kept on working. Now this many years later, I am in need of another one so here I am getting it. I guess it just got tired and died. I love it and most of all because of all the smiles I put on people's faces when they heard it. Time to replace now. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 10 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alarm
February 22, 2007
By judge
from omaha nebraska
" i like the alarm sound just wish it was alot louder. i can hardly hear it over my exhaust. it works great though but could be louder. i put it on my '83 chevy 3/4 ton 4x4. which i have a 9 1/2' camper on. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 11 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Train Sounds back up alarm
February 18, 2007
By Richmeister
from Minneapolis, MN
" This is a fun device. The sound starts with three whistles and then puts out the sound of a locomotive chugging, it whistles again once and then a crossing bell or locomotive bell rings for several seconds. Then the cycle repeats. It definitely gets peoples attention especially if you live near a rail line like I do. The sounds appear to come from an electronic chip and are probably real recordings. They definitely don't sound man made. The only downside of the device is due to its vulnerability to the elements. The two wires are also of a very small diameter. I mounted mine under the back bumper of my truck with cable zips. It hangs slightly loose. I then placed a thin gauge plastic bag over the entire assembly and secured it with a rubber band which didn't muffle the sound noticeably (in the -.02/dec range). A ZipLock back will probably work the best. The bag will keep the speaker and entire piece out of most weather conditions save an extreme icy blizzard. This device will make your backing up safer. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 12 for TRAIN ROAR BACK-UP ALARM
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great train sound
November 27, 2006
By soundman
from COLORADO
" I love the sound this thing puts out. Can be used for lots of fun. Maybe on my bike to warn others to move out of the way on the bike trail. I bought one, but if the price drops, i'll buy 3 more!! "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.