JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Headlight Relays or
Choose a category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY

HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY Now! Drive with both low beams and high beams on! Keeps low beams on when you turn on the high beams Improves visibility and
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 of 10(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Review 1 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dark Roads
November 9, 2014
By Bill
from Oregon
" This is easy to install with everything included. All you have to do is to switch to High Beams and it lights up better than driving lights. I wish I had not wasted my money on the driving lights. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 2 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Beam Headlight Relay
March 27, 2014
By DB57
from St. Gabriel, LA, USA
" Part arrived very quickly with standard shipping.
It was right the application for my vehicle. Excellent
purchase.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 3 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best aftermarket gadget I have ever Installed
January 3, 2014
By MrFixit
from Indian River, Tuscarora Township, MI, USA
" Super easy to install,literaly only took about 20 minutes. works as described "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 4 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Headlight adapter
December 17, 2013
By xphantomx
from Colorado
" Great little gadget. I have installed it on 2 vehicles. Living in a remote area with no street lights and lots of wild game on the road. I need all the light I can get. I would reccommend it for anyone living in the country. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 5 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bestt addition to my 86' GMC truck !!!!!!
November 15, 2013
By Tiny
from James Island, South Carolina, USA
" Very easy installation and a perfect addition to my project... "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 6 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made my own for less than $6.00
October 25, 2013
By All brights
from Madison, WI, USA
" I used a 30 amp automotive relay that I bought for less than $6.00 at an auto parts store and enough wire to make 4 leads, or you can order them from J.C. Whitney for a little more. I then followed instructions I found on You tube for all "4 headlights on brights upgrade" and the make and model of my vehicle and made my own. It is very easy to do, if you have a bit of knowledge about electronics, you can make your own. If they sell one of these $44.72 parts for your vehicle. If you cannot find one of these relays made for your vehicle, then you probably can't upgrade your vehicle yet. The one I made is well constructed and works great. Just follow the instructions and read all comments for the videos on You Tube. If you have no clue about electronics, then you should just pay for the knowledge someone else has. Good luck. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 7 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love this product for my truck
August 10, 2013
By minnowmann
from Michigan
Pros: Easy hook up. having high/low beams on at the same time..
Cons: there is some wire splicing.
" I like this product especially when oncoming traffic does not want to turn there high beams off. My next truck will have composite headlights so I can add this product. I run 85 watt low beam bulbs and 100 watt high beam bulbs and that is a lot of light going down the road with both high and low beams on at the same time. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 8 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tricky, but worth it
November 20, 2008
By erikd
from Topeka, KS
Pros: Immediate boost to beam spread
Cons: Daytime running lights now turn on low beams automatically
" When I ordered the kit, JC Whitney showed that it was a custom fit for my 2001 Chevy S10. Unfortunately, when I received it, it was designed for mounting in a Silverado. I was still able to install it in about 20 minutes, with a little creative mounting and matching wires by process of elimination. Overall, if you have some knowledge of your vehicle and wiring, it was an easy install that produced immediate results. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't Hit that Deer!..GREAT PRODUCT/GREAT SERVICE!
February 21, 2008
By CustomerNoMore
from East Texas
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Works as advertised, Easy Install, Great Service from JCW as usual !
Cons: minor adjustment needed on a bracket for my 2006 Silverado. No big deal!
" I installed this item on my 2006 Chevrolet Silverado and on my Dad's 1997 Chevy Suburaban.
On my Siverado pick up truck the only problem I ran into was the bracket attached to the unit had a hole drilled in it to attach it to the cross bar from the fender to the radiator support next to the radiator support. The hole in the bracket was too far from the end by about a 1/2 inch to reach the location. (A SIMPLE FIX)I simply drilled a new hole in the bracket! The rest of the installation was very simple indeed with great instuctions and pictures.
As for the 97 Suburban, it is a different kit all together. It comes with some of the ends not already crimped onto the wires and 3 self tapping screws to mount it with. This is because it is made to fit several different models and they allowed enough extra wire so you could cut it to length depending on your mounting situation.
For the Hot wire on both vehicles I didn't attach it directly to the battery per the instructions. Chevy trucks/SUV's have a fuse box located about 12 inches from the suggested mounting location that has a hot wire coming from the battery (the same size as the wire that goes to the starter)and lugs on it to attach items such as this. I used this location with wiring harness wrap on the wire and it looks like a factory installed option!
Both vehicles benefited greatly from this upgrade. Allowing you to see so much more road ahead and to the sides that I'm positive it could keep you from hitting a deer or even a child that was about to enter the roadway and you wouldn't have seen them with just the bright lights on!
I highly recommend this item to everyone and feel much safer now that I have it!
Thanks again JCW!!!
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HIGH-BEAM HEADLIGHT RELAY
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Head light kit #491455
February 21, 2007
By shoprat
from northern Indiana
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" 2001 4x4 Silverado
FYI Rarely do I endorse a product
I purchased a headlight kit made by Painless wiring from JC Whitney after seeing a post on a newsgroup
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS KIT
Item: 491455 HEADLIGHT RELAY KIT
This is the kit that turns on your dims with the brights
Easy to install and well worth the money!
I used the supplied connecters and enclosed them in ( not supplied)dielectrics grease and 3M scotch wire seal to reduce the possibility of corrosion at the connections I am totally satisfied with the good quality of the components and especially the drastic improvement in the bright lighting. It is wonderfull at improving your peripheral vision. I drive a lot of county roads where there are deer
and a lot of people on bicycles and joggers with out any reflectors or lights wearing dark clothing.
(The only thing missing is a Here's your Sign around their neck) After almost hitting someone I knew I had to improve my lighting.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.