JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Roof Top Wind Deflectors or
Choose a category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

WIND DEFLECTORS

WIND DEFLECTORS Improve vehicle control increase gas mileage Help keep campers, trailers, luggage insect-free Strong, lightweight fiberglass with white finish (can be painted). Mount and remove quickly-;no drilling. No-rust aluminum bolts and supports, no-mar rubber feet. Weather-resistant black polypropylene straps with vinyl-covered rain gutter hooks. Hardware, instructions. If vehicle lacks rain gutters, mounting kit available (sold separately, 1JA811252). Choose 24-position (standard or heavy-duty) or stationary deflector.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for WIND DEFLECTORS
Review 1 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alternate Installation
January 23, 2010
By Anonymous
from Reno, Nv.
Pros: permanent installation on camper shell
" I installed the 16/60 wind delector on my fiberglass camper shell and it works great! I removed the straps, replaced the suction cup bolts with longer (4" 20 machine bolts) and drilled four measured holes. I used the cylindrical strap bushings as spacers over the bolts and attached through the shell with large fender washers and lock washers. It is permanent, stable and works great! "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 2 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Buy
August 28, 2008
By bschmit
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Much cheaper than similar items found on the internet.
Cons: Mounting hooks didn't work and optional mounting kit requires drilling holes in the body of your car.
" I bought the wind deflector because I have a 4 cylinder Suzuki Vitara and could only pull my trailer 55 mph on level highway. The deflector was as wide as my car so I couldn't use the suction cup mounts or the strap mounts. I replaced the bolts where the straps attached with longer stainless steel bolts and attached it to my roof rack using hose clamps. Worked like a charm. I can now pull my trailer at 70 mph on level highway and cut my fuel use by a third. Very satisfied with the product once I figured out how to mount it. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I should have bought it years ago.
August 8, 2008
By TractorDre
from Manchester,NH
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: It really works!! I gained more excelleration and gas milage from my truck. Its awsome!!
Cons: Mounting straps sound like a flight of giant bumble bees when you get a crosswind.
" Its a great investment. Not only did I increase my fuel econmy by 4 miles to gallon but I am able to ecellerate much faster.
The box behind my cab is 27 inches higher than the roof of the cab. Even though this product is only 17 inches tall its able to deflect over the box.
It would be nice if a hard mount hardware were available for this product..
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 4 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It helped with my MPG + road speed
July 29, 2008
By SP5REP
from Anderson, SC
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: I do see it helps above 20mph in many ways
Cons: Turn the J clips on straps over or it will come loose on roof.
" Turn the J hooks over on the straps when useing the clip brackets on roof, that will insure it can't fall off. File inside of tube's, won't cut on straps. I put hanging straps inside cab then shut the door on them to keep them from flaping. I did some testing to make sure would stay on then towed with it later. I did see @ 2 mpg better. It will stay on and work when installed with J hooks reversed much better than directions say. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stationary Wind Deflector
July 17, 2008
By TrikePilot
from Northern CA
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Light weight, straight forward assembly & mounting, good design value for price.
Cons: Some mounting holes of the deflector didn't line up with the support bars.
" I felt this product was well designed for the price and seemed to do what it was intended for. I mounted it on our SUV using the existing adjustable luggage rack bars and attached the deflector with four s/s hose clamps. I pulled a 7X12ft trailer with the deflector attached to the roof of our SUV on a 600mile round trip. I checked the rack at each gas stop and it never moved. We drove through some fog mixed with ash from one of the fires in our state during the night. We were able to see the effect the deflector had the next morning because the front of our black SUV and the deflector(which I had also painted black)had a beige and gray spray on them. This only appeared on the very upper front cap of our black trailer just above the level of the marker lights. I did notice that the acceleration was enhanced a bit compared to driving with the same trailer without the deflector. Although I wasn't able to specifically determine any effect on our mpg, I would assume by our "spray test" that there would have also been some increase. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 6 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WIND DEFLECTORS
June 27, 2008
By Lee3boy
from Lawton Ok.
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: It did help my gas mileage.
Cons: Deflector come off while I was on the interstate.
" The deflectors has a problem with the attachment straps.
They were very hard to get tight to prevent the deflector from moveing back or the cab of my truck.
The adjustment for the height would not hold, I had to make a pole to help keep it at the proper level.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 7 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice product!
May 16, 2008
By Mooney
from Patriots Nation, MA
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The deflector does a nice job of redirecting the air up over the top of my lifted travel trailer (10'6" high).
I had to modify the strap mounting on the deflector base itself due to the width of my roof. It does not mention it, but the best way to "test" where the air will go is to place the deflector on the roof, and hit it with spray from a garden hose- that'll show you where the wind should go. Mount the deflector AS FAR BACK as you can, that'll be a good start. I put mine one foot from the rear of the cap on my pickup. you can scratch a line in the bracket to indicate the proper angle once you figure it out (use the garden hose- you'll nail it without wasting any fuel). I immediately noticed having to use less right pedal to get and keep going, and my fuel mileage increased greatly.
THE BRACKET KIT, necessary if you don't have rain gutters is offered through JC Whitney, but is hard to find, SO the part number is: ZX811252 (as of 5-15-2008)
I placed a decal from the trailer manufacturer on the front of the deflector as decoration, and it looks pretty good now (kind of plain and boring before since it was just white). "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 8 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wind Deflector
February 5, 2008
By peteski
from Benton, Arkansas
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Fairly easy to assemble, and light weight
Cons: Having a little trouble maintaining the heighth adjustment
" I bought the 24" X 60" wind deflector and mounted it on my 2007 Ford F-150 Supercab P/U. It was fairly easy to assemble. I did, however, take the fiberglass wind screen off the frame to paint it the same color as my P/U. It increased my mileage better than 2.5 mpg while on my roof. I am going to mount it on my truck cap, so it will be closer to my travel trailer. I did buy the extra mounting brackets for mounting on the truck cap. I did have some trouble maintaining the heighth adjustment. I also had some wind noise from the hold down straps until I wrapped them some "good ol' Duct tape. I do believe that it will increase my mileage even more. A great product! "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 9 for WIND DEFLECTORS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good Item, I liked it's proformance.
July 1, 2007
By TS45
from Dallas, TX
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this to put on top of my tahoe to help pull my camper on vacation. I heard it would help my truck pull easier, and it did the job. Very easy to install, but I was alittle aware that it might fly off. It did'nt, stayed in place and secure to my truck the whole trip. How ever, I didn't care to much for the color. That was a easy fix. A few screws and alitte spray paint, and I had it customized to match my dark green tahoe. Thanks JC Whitney. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.