JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Lift Kits or
Choose a category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS

SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKSRaises vehicle's height for increased ground clearance on larger tiresHeavy-duty components survive years of hard usageBetter protection, more
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
71 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer Reviews for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Review 1 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
88 chevy c-1500
May 9, 2012
By southern rebel
from arcadia,fl
Pros: cheap kit nice for the price
"I bought this kit for my 88 chevy c1500 wasnt to bad to install took about 13hrs to complete the install was sent u-bolts that were to small to fit around the rearend but other than that was impressed with the ride had the truck droped four inches from stock and the ride was really ruff so the lift made a huge diffrence in the ride and made the truck look good still to"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value for the price
March 11, 2012
By punk
from PA
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pros: solid heavy products. very good instructions
Cons: should have had all new bolts instead of reusing some of the older ones
"5" lift on 97 Dodge Ram. good value for the price. think they called for 6-8 hour install time. If you think you'll do it anywhere close to that time frame forget it. Took myself and an experienced mechanic with all the proper tools about 8 hours on saturday and another 10 hours on sunday to get it done. Be prepared to cut ,pry, and beat the old torsion bar bolts and buy all new ones. Over all though I am very satisfied with this product."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 3 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD PURCHASE
December 2, 2010
By Anonymous
from BEAN STATION TN.
Pros: NOT EXPENSIVE AT ALL, SIMPLE TO INSTALL
Cons: TIRE CLEARNCE WAS NOT RIGHT FOR RECOMENDED SIZE
"INSTALLED 3 IN. LIFT ON 1997 JEEP CHEROKEE REOMENDED TIRE SIZE WAS A 31/15.50/15 BOUGHT MICKEY THOMPSON WHEELS AND TIRES AND IT TORE ALL MY FACTORY FLARES OFF AND RUBS LIKE CRAZY I NEEDED A 4 IN. LIFT FOR TIRES AND WHEELS GOING TO HAVE TO LIFT MORE BUT PRICE WISE GOOD PRODUCT"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
4 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3" cherokee lift kit w/ shocks
January 6, 2010
By Anonymous
from Lake Orion MI
Pros: inexpensive kit containes every thing needed
Cons: instructions are weak. U bolts wrong size for axel tube
"went on in about 5 hours, looks great improved ride on high milage cherokee. JC Whitney was great to deal with on U bolt issue."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty good
June 6, 2009
By XJer
from Wind Gap, PA
Pros: mkaes your jeep look good.
Cons: u-bolts too small for axle.
"i bought this lift for my 1996 Jeep XJ(cherokee sport). i had bad springs first of all so i bought new leafs and then this add a leaf. the added leaf was not hard to put in if you have a rubber mallet and something to pry the spring apart with. the old spring was exremely difficult to get off. the back came off no problem but the front wouldnt come out. i tried to torch the bushing and that didnt work. i went out and bought 5"x1/2" grade 8 bolts to replace the old bolts with and grinded the old bolts next to the shakel and hammered the spring out. when you put the new leaf on make sure that you put the front eye into the front shakel first. the rear is pretty difficult to get lined up but not too bad to get on. make sure that you go to an auto store to buy 4"x9" u-bolts if you have the xj for the spring plate and tighten as much as you can. make sure that you put some kind of lubricant on the bolts that hold the shock to the fame also! its a nightmare if you have to drill through the frame because of broken bolts. it takes forever! when you do the front make sure that you have a spring compressor. even with that all the way compressed it wasnt easy to put on and take off. once you figure out the compressor it is very easy to do. make sure all the bolts you put on are extremely tight. if you use an impact gun get a breaker bar and put the same size on on the end of that and tighten it even more to be sure the suspension stays together. overall it was pretty easy if you make sure you have liquid wrech and lithium grease for the bolts and make sure you start to spray a few days in advance. not regrets and made my jeep look great."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1.5 inch lift
April 26, 2009
By caser47
Pros: front end was very easy with coil compressor
Cons: jeep rear upper shock bolts broke
"1999 cherokee rear upper shock mount bolts broke creating a nightmare!!! drilled out 1 of 2 each hole after many broken drill bits. cut sheet metal on left side to get hand in to hold bolt to tighten. one bolt on l and r upper mount is not enuff!!!! the first bump on the road and the upper of the shock came out of the mount. not a product problem but a very bad 1999 cherokee problem. nightmare to fix rear upper mounting."
0 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST PURCHASE I HAVE MADE
October 31, 2008
By hula493172
from CHATTANOOGA
Pros: VERY EASY INSTALL VERY GOOD INSTRUCTIONS VERY NICE PRICE
Cons: RUSTY BOLTS ON THE JEEP USE A LOOSING LUBRICANT
"WOULD DEFINITELY USE THEIR PRODUCT(S) AGAIN VERY WELL DESIGNED PRODUCTS"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Bang for the buck
August 19, 2008
By cliffbong732
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Cheap, Works great, great for the price
Cons: Some nuts and bolts dont tighten all the way, needed heavier duty u-bolts
"It arrived in 2 days which was unexpected. I installed it over the weekend in my driveway. It went on pretty smoothly with some elbow grease and the right tools. Instructions were pretty good, but i also printed out additional instructions from forums and sites. The nuts on the u-bolts didnt tighten all the way for some reason and I had to go out and buy new ones that were heavier duty. The price definitely reflects on the quality but still well worth it. I had a lot of help from my next door neighbor who is a mechanic. I would suggest an after market steering stabilizer to kill the shimmy in the steering and a front end alignment right after install. The front sits about 3/4" higher after it settled in for a week. Extending the brakes was a little tricky. If your looking to save money go with this. Handles well off roading and the ride is stiffer. Make sure to have a spring compressor it will save you hours."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
16 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
89 chevy 1500 3in lift
February 24, 2008
By hawgtuff55
from northeast Georgia
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Great Product!!
Cons: instructions need more images
"Me my dad and uncle installed this in one weekend. It took 16 hrs, but it was our first time doing a suspension lift. Everything went together easy, but instructions need to be more detailed. overall it is a great product. I like the add a leaf instead of block."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and delivered fast!
May 16, 2007
By JCWCustomer
from USA
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product!. I had no problems that i wasn't ready for. Took me about a weekend of wrenching. Not a bad kit at all. It all came sooner than expected. Every bolt and nut was there too. Instructions were for the most part are very helpful and easy to follow."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 inch superduty lift
February 23, 2007
By djldcw
from MA
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i installed this kit on my 2006 ford f250 superduty diesal, the ride is nice only a little stiffer than stock, 35-12.5-17 on 9inch wide wheels fit with no rubbing. the 4 star rating for instalation was because the instructions say the front springs just slide in place, but the old springs will fall right out you will need a spring compresor to put the new springs in, if you are looking to lift your 05-06 superduty this is the best bang for the buck,figure 6-8 hours install if you are working in your own driveway"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best deal on earth, works great!
January 17, 2007
By Texan
from Texas
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I put this 4" lift on my daughters '86 GMC 4x4. Every thing works great! I went ahead and bought the longer break lines, just for peace of mind. JCW has a smokin' deal on those too. This kit is far from fancy, but it is simple and gets the job done for a good price. My daughter is very happy. Be aware, if you have a stock single exhaust, the front driveshaft will hit the exhaust after the truck is lifted."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SUSPENSION LIFT KITS WITH SHOCKS
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chevy Lift
December 14, 2006
By Buddyro
from Pensacola, FL
Ease of Use/Installation
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Put it on a 1995 Chevy Extended cab. Very impressed that it came with a rear add a leaf and not blocks.Not an install for the novice but not real tough either. Make sure you shave off some material from your front bump stops and you may need to have your exhaust pipe reshaped a little where it exits the manifold on the drivers side to allow plenty of clearance for the shock. Very nice kit and the ride is really nice (blows away stock suspension with turned up torsion bars). Really wish they added the shock boots in this kit though, it seems odd to have everything but the boots."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.