JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Sport & Racing Seats or
Choose a category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats

RECLINING RACING SEATSSAVE $85! COMPARE AT $254.99!You Won't Find A Reclining Seat Like This Priced Lower Anywhere! Fully-reclining racing seat with adjustment handles on both si
Average Customer Rating:
4.088 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
30 of 34(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
69 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Review 1 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
sits higher then stock
May 22, 2014
By Anonymous
" I have an 84 fiero and my sick seat was getting worn, so I got this. I sit a full 3 inches higher at least in this seat. I hate the feel because it feels like my crotch is in my steering wheel. Maybe better on other cars but definitely not mine. And the seat adjuster was junk so I reused my old one. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bragin!
April 28, 2014
By Sluggo
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
" For Leather Racing Seats these are pretty big sized when comparing them to other makers of aftermarket seats.
I use to weight 285 lbs (at 5'10") and normally I'd need a shoe horn to fit into Racing Seats, but these were wider than all that I tried (Now that I'm down to 200 lbs they even feel better).
I loved the color too, I got the black with blue inserts and feared that the Blue would be too loud (and pop too much) but they looked much better when looking at them compared to the picture.
My car got totaled and I was selling many of the extra parts off of Craigslist, four different people really wanted the seats (which I wasn't selling)
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
April 15, 2014
By Anonymous
" Overall best racing seats I have seen thus far. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as seen
March 6, 2014
By Anonymous
from Kansas, USA
" nice colors ,comfortable, good size for a big guy "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not impressed
February 24, 2014
By rickieprice
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
" Seats were totally different weren't a matching pair. Didnt have the same parts for each seat then had missing parts and were way harder to put in then expected. Wouldn't recommend buying unless you want a headache and frustration "
Review 6 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
racing seat
January 7, 2014
By greg
from Michigan, USA
" I bought 2 of these and one was a return because they already cut the holes in the bottom of the seat and one hole I had to go buy a metric tap and fix the hole because there was weld in the hole ,but once repaired it was ok,but still should have got a new one but wasn't worth the hassle of returning it,but it is fine "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 7 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent Seats for the Price
November 22, 2013
By BuBBaBead
from RagTown Utah
" I used some 3/16 hard plate to make the mount for my seat brackets to mount them in a 77 Honda CVCC. The seats are quite firm and not too uncomfortable but they are not made for a person with a well endowed back side. The reclining mechanism is a slight pain to adjust because you have to crank both sides at the same time. Still, very doable. Seat material seems pretty durable also. They do take up a bit more of the leg room in the back seat than the stock seats as the bottom pivot point is quite a bit thicker. Overall i am very happy with these seats and would suggest them to anyone who has a little knowledge of minor fabrication and some tools. If you are having someone else do it then by all means get them. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 8 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great job
October 23, 2013
By Alan
" Nice comfort, great support, feels good "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$127 Delivered
August 18, 2013
By AlexT
from FL
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: The BEST price on a race seat I got after months of searching. Seat is thick and high quality. Fit perfectly.
Cons: On racing cars the driver is low and the risers must be on the lowest settings.
" I recently did a major overhaul. Working on a budget I had to complete all of the engine work before focusing on the interior. I got this seat on clearance and was surprised when it arrived. I could not lift it and the packaging was 5 stars. Did not take more than an hour or two for installation.
Everything fit easily and was on time; I had restored the entire seat motor units and removed the old rusted and ripped seats. What a difference and improvement. People notice the seat immediately because it is different than the Z28 seats I have in my Trans Am Convertible. The thick foam feels more plush and the seats look more expensive than they were.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 10 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seats
June 6, 2013
By Fergy
from Kingston Ont Canada
Pros: Desent fabrication and materials
Cons: mounting
" Although these seat fit the brackets of an 85 Camaro. they sit way to high. We had to fab brackets that mounted right to the floor.. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 11 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice fit
August 27, 2011
By 510fred
Pros: low cost, well made, nice micro adjust wheel
Cons: small base footprint
" easy to mount in 1968 510 Datsun after making a .100" 1x1.5 inch tube base.I put the driver side seat on a stack of 2x4's then used a length of short chain to keep from tipping over backwards[!]. An assistant then put 1x3's under front/rear until I found the "sweet spot", then built the tube frame and a mirror opposite one for the pass. side. then wood removed and tube welded in. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
frustration
August 20, 2011
By 98RedJeepTJ
Pros: Look really nice and cheap
Cons: Hard to Mount
" I have a 98 Jeep TJ and I origanly followed the instructions until I found the bolt patter with my new seats are not the same as my old seat brakets. This made me extremely mad because they were featured in a Jeep magazine so now I have to make a braket for the transition from backet to seat and after reading the clearence issue im starting to wonder if they were worth the time and effort!!??!!!??? "
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
racing seats
March 7, 2011
By Anonymous
from Georgia
Pros: looks good,fair price,rides good
Cons: sides of chair not that strong,passenger seat wouldnt mount
" bought 2 of these for my mud truck.intsallation was a breeze except for passeneger side i had to make my own mounting bracket.rides good on or offroad.my only real problem is that whatever side you get in & out of seat on the foam will start to break.all in all i would recommend these for you weekend play rig just know that if you use daily the foam will break on one side of the seat "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Value
August 10, 2010
By Anonymous
from Lancaster County, PA
Pros: Fairly priced, decent looks.
Cons: No answer on matching fabric to cover rear seats.
" Bought on sale for a great price. Was shipped quickly. No damage, but surprising due to poor packaging. No problems with installing in my 63 Ford Falcon convertible resto-mod. A reasonably tall seat but still worked out fine. No more problems with installation than expected with an aftermarket product. Left 2" clearance at doors and room to reinstall factory console. Snug around the shoulders (I'm 6' 2" @ 225 lbs). Rest of the family considers them very comforable. You get what you pay for and I am quite satified overall. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have owned for 2 years
October 15, 2009
By Anonymous
from Saint Louis
Pros: cheaper look nice
Cons: foam breaks apart
" after a year of daily use the foam on the sides breaks off and material starts to rip! DO NOT BUY for long term use!!! I have owned for 2 years!! I loved them at first until the foam started breaking off! I only weigh 160. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
61 of 63 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Affordable Replacement Seats
June 26, 2008
By Jezze
from Bay Area, CA
Pros: Great looking and very affordable seats, and lighter than the original seats.
Cons: Slider/mounting brackets should be designed to fit more popular vehicles, without having to drill holes.
" The main disadvantage to these seats are the slider/mounting brackets. I had to fabricate brackets to make it fit to the existing mounting holes of the car, because I did not want to drill new holes to the car chasis, and to give it a more custom fit look. Also, more popular colors, such as Tan or Beige, should be made available, to better match the interior of the car. Otherwise, they are well worth the price paid for. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Measure carefully
June 7, 2008
By jgeeg35
from Texas
Pros: Very good value
Cons: Packing
" One of boxes came ripped up. UPS guys are sometimes rough.
Purchased for Datsun Z and seat is about 1" too wide at the top and hit door. Measure carefully. Ad should had all measurements, but I shoud have asked.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great seat for the price
May 1, 2008
By Jessie
from VA
Pros: Pretty comfortable but I haven't installed them yet.
Cons: To recline, you have to turn the knob until you reach the desired inclination
" These will go into a '68 VW Baja Beetle. I haven't installed them yet, still waiting for other parts that I need. On the floor, they seem comfortable and sturdy, especially for the price. I'm not crazy about having to turn a knob to reach the desired inclination but I figure this won't be a big deal once you get it where you want. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Seats
March 28, 2008
By JClem
Pros: very comfortable, look fantastic, fit great in any 94-05 S-10 (including standard cab)
Cons: poorly shipped
" these seats look and feel wonderful, but be aware that they are not shipped well, they are in cardboard boxes, without much padding, so the plastic tilt knobs may be broken when they arrive. Installation is fairly easy, but remember that they are a custom job, they are not made to fit your specific vehicle. it took me about 6-7 hours to fabricate "nice" looking sliders (from my stock sliders). Overall, good find at a great price, these seats are comparable to seats that cost twice as much, if your considering buying them, look no further!!! Thanks JCW! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garage Pro Reclining Racing Seats
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good seat for the money.
March 1, 2008
By 39chevy
Pros: Good Price. Firm but comfortable.
Cons: Seat height is higher than anticipated. Could have better quality seat adjustment features.
" I installed these seats in my '39 Chev. Pick-up. It was a little more time consuming than I imagined, but in the end I got them in with enough room between them for my shifter; a big concern considering the narrow width of the cab. I was dissappointed in the height of the seat base and the side supports as it makes it a little difficult to get in and out of the vehicle. This may be a concern about wear on the seat edges over time. Also, without a tilt steering column, they would not have worked as there would not have been enough room between the seat and the steering wheel. I must commend JC Whitney on their fast, professional service. I had to return one of the seats because of a broken adj. knob, but they had it picked up at my house and a new one back again in a couple of days at no cost to me. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.