JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Light Controls or
Choose a category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator

HEADLIGHT DAYTIME MODULATORDesigned to enhance awareness of motorcycle headlight illumination for safety during daylight hours100% solid stateQuick and easy installation
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Review 1 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wrost purchase ever
May 20, 2012
By pathfinder
from minnesota
Pros: easy to in stall
Cons: poor proformer
"installed this on my 1979 h-d . install on high beam could bearly tell it was working , hook in up to low beam seamed a little beter but to a disapointment."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy, Solid, and Best
March 8, 2012
By DUCATI 1199
from CA
"Once had a soccer mom (SUV) turn left in front of me after I passed the crosswalk line at 35 mph (Head on CRASH). Now I ride with Hi-Beams ON with the MODULATOR on and flashing. Now I see they just STOP and LOOK twice. This is a MUST HAVE, save your life."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 3 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad, but not amazing
May 21, 2009
By Syradude
from Syracuse, NY
Pros: Easy to install, gets attention
Cons: Not as fast as described
"My friend and I both installed these on our 81 Yamahas. The plug-in type was way too expensive for us and we want to be as careful as possible when riding. With a wire terminal kit, a bypass switch, and a couple feet of wire from Advance Auto Parts we had these installed in both bikes in about an hour. It can be tricky but you will need to find a convenient location for the bypass switch. My main problem with this unit is that it claims to flash every 1/10 of a second but in reality it's only flashing about twice per second. It does work and it gets your attention but it's not like a police strobe or anything. I would have liked it to be as fast as it claims to be."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD ENOUGH TO GIVE TO ANYONE
December 11, 2008
By eddiesr
Pros: great value
Cons: works great
"value price works great--install easy"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product
November 7, 2008
By Bucfan11
from Lakeland, Fl
Pros: Works great, Easy Install
Cons: No auto off/on
"Easy to install. I installed in my headlight on my 08 Nomad. Works great. Installed a toggle switch to turn it off. Excellent product. Only 4 stars because of no auto off/on photo eye."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am buying another one
October 30, 2008
By azcoyote
from Kingman, AZ
Pros: Easy to install and not expensive
Cons: can't think of any
"I have used a headlight modulator on my motorcycles for over 20 years. The Firefly that I had on my old motorcycler cost four times what this one cost. I have had this model on my touring bike for several years and notice that other drivers really see me coming. I am sure it anoys some but if that makes them notice me all the better. I am ording a second one for my sport bike."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
August 28, 2008
By bigdaddy1957
from arkansas
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great saftey item
"installed on new 2008 dr650 susuki,removed head light cover,spliced into wires on low beam and installed rocker switch on handle bars for night time use.product works great as added saftey item"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 8 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pay attention
August 23, 2008
By tncustomer
from Clinton, TN
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Gets folks attention
Cons: None
"I own a 2003 Suzuki Intruder VS800.
The headlight housing was too small to include this module in there too. I installed this module under the seat.
I installed this module on my High Beam circuit. This way I'm able to turn off this module at night by simply switching the lights to the Low Beam. My Low Beam is steady. My High Beam cycles multiple times per second because of this installed module. Drivers see you coming easy with this module turned on. I notice more drivers paying attention to you. You see some drivers pan their head as you pass by. I suppose they are wondering who you are. Police officer in chase? What's wrong with your headlights, some probably wonder? Fine with me, as long as they see me, doesn't matter how that is done.
Awesome safety solution for a small amount of money."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 9 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Headlight modulator
July 3, 2008
By SwaMan
from Upstate New York
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good operation, small size, low price
Cons: wiring diagram has an error.
"You can't beat this modulator for the price, however I would paid a bit more had the dissable switch been included as it would have saved me a shopping trip. There is a minor discrepancy in the wiring diagram, but easily figured out and corrected.
This modulator definitely gets attention, and has no doubt saved my life more than once!
highly recommended product, and the JCW service was great!
Swa
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2000 1100 VSTAR
June 16, 2008
By mrbill55
from goose creek, sc
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Easy to install, an an excellent safety item
Cons: Had to keep the module external, it wouldn't fit in headlight assembly.
"I bought this for the safety concerns of people pulling out in front of me on all road situations. This device lets me be seen like a strobe on a traffic signal."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 11 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Headlight & Safety
April 24, 2008
By NscaleDuck
from Blythewood, SC
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Could be smaller
"The modulator was pretty easy to install. Fitting it into the headlight housing was a bit of a challenge, but I made it fit. I have noticed a drop in cars "cutting me off" since I started to use it. It is a great tool to add to your safety arsenal!"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 12 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Make yourself as visible as possible!
May 13, 2007
By BAL02
from SE Minnesota
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I installed this HEADLIGHT DAYTIME MODULATOR on my 1979 Honda CB750K's Vetter fairing headlight. I used "ball and socket" quick connectors, since these will shield their connectors, preventing shorts in the electrical system. I also installed these connectors in such a configuration as to allow me to unplug the HEADLIGHT DAYTIME MODULATOR, and plug the wires back into their original configuration, in case of failures on the road.
To allow me to bypass it temporarily (as required by federal law, read the product description), as when I am riding at night, or in the rain, I installed an Ignited brand, hooded switch, JC Whitney item #ZX518737X (I installed a rubber 'glove', from a local hardware store, to help protect the switch from weather -- just cut the very end off, to allow the LED to be exposed; the remainder of the rubber sleeve will cover the shaft, and the mechanism).
Be sure to test your leads with a volt-/ohm-meter. Use a pin, with an alligator clip on the probe, to poke into your wires to test which lead is which. Be sure to follow the wiring diagram carefully, as reversing the polarity will destroy the HEADLIGHT DAYTIME MODULATOR.
Once installed, it worked perfectly. I opted to connect it to my Low Beam, but that is a personal choice. The unit works perfectly, and it is highly visible from a long distance, in bright sunlight. The LED on my switch flashes with the headlight. I opted to mount it low, on the fairing, to prevent it from being in my peripheral vision, so it would not distract me (I don't want to mistake it for my Oil Light!...). The bypass switch needs to be within easy, safe reach, but if you go with an illuminated bypass switch, be aware that it will flash, when the unit is in operation, before you mount it.
I priced a competitor's product, and it was more than double the price. Granted it had a photo-sensor to automatically disable the unit, but for my money, this was the way to go. Besides, I prefer a little more manual control over the system. I highly recommend it. It is a great piece of safety equipment which will help in making your presence known. Cheers!
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small price for greater safety
April 25, 2007
By Wally
from Texas
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a simple yet effective device to hook up. I asked the shop that normally works on my bike how much for THEM to get something like this and they quoted me $95!!! and that's just for the part. I was amazed to find this one. Just be sure to use 16 or 18 gauge wire when wiring up the by-pass switch that you'll need to get seperately (like from Radio Shack or some place). For the added safety this brings, it's a small price to pay!!!"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 14 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy this one!
August 31, 2006
By Fred
from Northwest
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Why pay well over $100 when you can get the same thing for
1/8 of the price?
I looked all over the net and decided to give it a go.
It was easy to install.
Just remember that the little screw is so you can mount the unit onto something.
I have heard people say headlight modulators will not work on anything below a 150cc bike (because of the magneto system).
Well, it works on my Yamaha Zuma scooter (50cc).
Now, when cars drive by me they actually watch me. Whereas before, they never even paid attention!
I have not had 1 person try to pull a left in front of me since I installed it. (Which used to be a somewhat common occurance before the modulator)
Just ask yourself "Is your life worth the cost of a modulator?"
If yes, then I say buy this one.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 15 for Amperite Universal Headlight Daytime Modulator
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Modulator
July 14, 2006
By Dane
from Clearwater, Florida
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use/Installation
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality/Construction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For added safety, low price and ease of installation it is hard to beat. Only drawback is the size of the modulator if headlight bucket is small.
Mounted on a 2005 suzuki intruder under triple tree and wired into headlight bucket. Works great. It will help to get you noticed so there is less chance for the dreaded 'I didn't see it!!' comment.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.