JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Trunks or
Choose a category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks

MATTE BLACK TRAVEL TRUNKS#1 Selling Motorcycle Trunks in America!SAVE OVER $100! When compared to others at $194.99!You Won't Find This Trunk Priced Lower Anywhere!Easy to detach-trunk can be locked, unlocked and remov
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 217 reviews
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
100
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
200 of 217(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
120 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Review 61 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
lock did not always lock
May 11, 2013
By coug
Pros: price
Cons: Blew off my bike
" Lock did not always lock and it blew off my bike. I went back to find it but it was lost. i was given a 10 dollar credit since i could not find it "
Review 62 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good for that price
May 10, 2013
By lukas
" it did require some bending and experimenting configuration on my kymco super 8 150. the end result is that it fits pretty well. "
Review 63 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice box
May 6, 2013
By GShaner
from Delaware
Pros: Inexpensive and easy to install
" Nice box for the price. I can get a full face helmet in the box and still have a little room left over. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 64 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice top case
May 2, 2013
By ai4px
from Central SC
Pros: fits givi monokey rack
Cons: bottom latch a little flimsy
" I got this upon seeing one on a friend's bike. It fit my givi top case plate but I couldn't get it to latch. Turns out the latch has a lot of vertical play in it. If you press the button in, push the case down onto the mount and THEN release the button, it will latch nicely. I have painted the orange band black and put reflective tape under the red lens. All in all, not a bad case. You will probably want to add a weather strip gasket.... window screen spine should work fine. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 65 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Deal
April 30, 2013
By Miles
from Tucson, AZ
Pros: Spacous Trunk
Cons: None
" Great deal for your money!
Mounts on easy, enough space for 2 full face helmets. Thick Strudy construction.Great price and quality compared to other smaller trunks at higher prices. I recommend this to anyone wanting a good size trunk for runs to the grocery store. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great case for the price
April 29, 2013
By Chris
from Indianapolis, IN, USA
" I recently purchased a Givi rack for my 2000 VFR800 and wanted to save some cash on the top case as I don't plan to use it very often. I had read on various motorcycle forums that the Large size case will fit the Givi Monokey top plate, so I gave it a shot.
The case does, in fact, fit the monokey top rack rack. It's a bit snug, but it does go on and latch securely. It will also fit the monokey side case racks as well with a small amount of shaving with a knife to enlarge the post receivers on the bottom of the case. I've been using the trunk more than I expected to as it is so handy to have. My large full faced helmet fits inside and this, along with my two Givi side cases, can fit a few days worth of groceries in at the store.
For $45 shipped, don't expect Givi quality. What you do get is decent enough, though. The red lense going around the trunk is not reflective and has only a strip of white paper behind it. I purchased a small roll of reflective tape to put behind it and now it is reflective. Also, the "pink" colored trim comes off with a couple of screws....painted with black plastic-compatible paint, it now looks good.
The lock systems seems sturdy, however, the plastic "straps" that hold the case from opening too far will surely break in pretty short order, so expect to replace them with something else at some point.
All in all, a great buy for price! "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Deal
April 25, 2013
By Kurt
from Bakersfield, CA.
Pros: Price, Ease of use, Quick release, Size
Cons: Iron cross logo.
" I did not expect this to be of the same build quality as a case that cost $300 and it isn't, so no surprises there. I am very surprised it is as nice as it is for less than $50, this could easily be sold for $150 and people would still think it is a good deal. The construction is solid and I see no problems with it, the only thing I haven't been able to check is the waterproof abilities in the rain. After reading some of the negative reviews, especially the ones concerning the latch to keep it mounted to the plate, I was worried about that part. So I tested it repeatedly before going out on the road. My experience has been that you need to have the lid latch unlocked and open when you put the case on the mounting plate and make sure it clicks really well, give it a few strong tugs to make sure it is solid, then you can latch and lock the lid. Before I figured this out the case would pop up off the mounting plate easily, just take the time to figure it out and it will be okay. My one actual complaint is the ugly iron cross logo on the round thing on top, it's ugly and looks out of place on this case, I covered it up with tape. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that it isn't a Givi or other name brand and I doubt it will last as long as those cases, if it is still on my bike in a few years I'll come back and write another review. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 68 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Trunktastic
April 12, 2013
By RC14
from RTP, NC
" I'm giving this trunk four stars because it exceeds my expectations. It is roomy enough to fit a full face helmet, unlike it's smaller brother, with room to spare. It cost less than the smaller unit to boot. The lock works and the case can be latched to the mounting plate after the case is locked, just like a Givi.
This case came with a mounting plate, however it did not fit well on my KLR250 due to stamped in convolutions. I cut a piece of 5/8" plywood as an adapter and drilled it with 4 recessed holes to mount to the fender and four more holes for the mounting plate. I painted the plywood adapter black to match the mounting plate and it has a decent sano look.
Some cons: Even though it has a Givi-style mount, it doesn't comply with the mushroom and pyramid spacing of a Givi, being slightly smaller. It shouldn't have taken much effort to design it to the exact same dimensions. The smaller case fits an even smaller mounting plate so they are _not_ interchangeable if you wanted to have a large and small case for different occasions.
The back rest for passengers isn't a cushion. It's just a bump molded to look like what _is_ a cushion on another brand.
The iron cross emblem on top doesn't fit well in the intended recess.
Overall the positives far outweigh the negatives. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 69 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Doesn't work for me
April 9, 2013
By KLRrider
from Nebraska
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: latch needs key and takes up interior space
" I got this to put a cooler in. It is my lunchbox for work. According to the dimensions given on the site, it would fit. But it does not due to the latch and lock assembly molded into the interior taking up too much space. Also you need the key to open or close it. Rather inconvenient. Otherwise, it is okay for the price. Not super sturdy, but would get the job done. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 70 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Remember it is a cheaper case than others
April 5, 2013
By David
from Georgia, USA
" Not sure if I wanted a top case for my C14, I decided to try out this trunk for the price.
Before buying this, if you think you are buying a leading name brand or equivalent case for a 1/4 of the price you need to get real. This is a relatively cheap knock off of a much better case.
Having said that, I like this case for the price. The installation is relatively straightforward on a C14 and most of the hardware that comes with the case is not needed. The latch plate was slightly bent and the case would not latch on to it at first - though a couple of whacks of a hammer fixed that.
I don't know if I would want to get this case if I knew for a fact that I wanted a top case, but for a small investment, it gives you the chance to see if a top case matches your riding style and needs.
Pros: Costs, ease of installation, storage space for the money
Cons: No handle to open the case, cheaply made - tolerances are not that tight. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 71 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Now have two
April 2, 2013
By MileMeister
from East Coast, USA
" I bought the little one three years ago. Decided I needed a larger box and just got the big guy. The smaller box has survived a major cross country trip. It is pretty waterproof and the hinges can survive overstuffing. True, you get what you pay for but this box will get you what you're looking for. Unless of course you want to match it with high-end panniers or bike detail. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 72 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trunk
March 29, 2013
By Apache
from nm
Pros: Well built and spacious, will hold 2 helmets easily. Installation was straight forward and easy.
Cons: none
" Excellent trunk for the money. Is well built.
Would be nice if a light was included on the rear that could be hooked into the bikes brake light. Or a space to install a light.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 73 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for
March 27, 2013
By digitalbroccoli
from Upstate NY
Pros: the trunk itself is solidly put together
Cons: The latching system includes a "random eject" feature
" When this came in, I was pretty happy with it. The trunk itself is made very well, and aside from the light red strip that is bound to turn pink in the sun, it's an attractive piece of luggage. Mounting it wasn't difficult, I got everything together, stress tested it by tugging up and down and side to side to make sure the latch was going to hold, and it seemed just fine.
5 minutes of riding, and the trunk ejected. The latch let go, and it flew off, skidding across the road and ending up in the weeds. I remounted it, checked the latch, made sure everything was snug, and didn't feel like it was going to let go, and headed back home to unmount it. I've gone over the latch a few times, and it's just not a quality piece of equipment, and may or may not let go. I'm not risking it, I'll go with another product. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 74 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't get an extra key anywhere
March 18, 2013
By Pete
from Sarasota FL
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Can't get extra keys
" This is an OK trunk EXCEPT that no extra keys are available. You get two keys with it. Neither the blanks nor the keys can be had anywhere, at least in the United States. In rough service, the keys could wear out in less than a year. For a garage bike it won't matter, but garage bikes would get Leatherlyke or some other deluxe trunk, rather than this. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 75 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a good one.
March 7, 2013
By bstii
from Chicagoland, IL
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pros: Great size, sturdy
Cons: Needs modding
" Like others before me, I installed reflective tape under the red reflector to make that part effective. I also painted the orange moulding to complement the bikes colors. Great outcome. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
complete junk, dont waste your time
March 6, 2013
By sleddog
Pros: an easy way to waste money
Cons: everything, plastic is brittle, mounting system is worthless,
" This is a worthless piece of junk, Dont waste your money on this, spend the extra money for a givI case and avoid the headaches, they claim the mounting bracket is universal and it is not. The plastic is very brittle it breaks very easy. The lock can easily be broken. You will also need to paint the red stripe around it, it turns pink after a few days in the sun. Im off to the hardware store now to try to fabricate a mounting bracket for this piece of junk. DO NOT BUY "
Review 77 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Product Great Value
February 26, 2013
By HBSouthCarolina
from South Carolina
Pros: Better than expected quality
" This trunk is better than expected! and the price is a great value I have owned similar product with a much higher price and this product exceeds by far very sleek style lots of room with extra support to hold items. Very happy with product would recommend over the high price products sold at events. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like it.
February 26, 2013
By yellowdatsun
from phx
Pros: Decent quality, nice mount, good size.
Cons: Maybe the hinges, i dunno.
" For the price it's an excellent piece. I had the EMGO trunk previously, and this is on par with that one. The base is metal and really sturdy. The latch from the base to the box seems good. I haven't had any issues with mine yet. What I have noticed is that the hinges look kinda cheap, and the overall quality is not top notch. BUT, it also doesn't cost $200. So if you want a good trunk, at a reasonable price, you really can't go wrong with this one. "
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 79 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good box but may have been used already.
February 26, 2013
By TomT
Pros: Price, size, easy to install
Cons: Scrapes and scratches on the steel parts.
" Great box, but I does look like I was sent a used unit, the mounting plate was full of scratches, it looks like it was mounted at one time. I don't appreciate getting someone else s goods. Other than the scratched mounting plate the box is a good value. "
Review 80 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value
February 25, 2013
By routerman
Pros: roomy, fits well with "customizing", weatherproof
Cons: plastic catch lock too flimsy, needs metal to metal
" Bought one for my big V STrom. I fabbed a customer mount for my bike, so I can easily change to my trunk, nothing, or my large flat plate I use when I'm camping. I also added some rubber spacers on the trunk mounts and it fits very snug.
NO water, ever, holds lots of stuff, great backrest for my daughter when she rides, "