JC Whitney Ratings and Reviews

Fan
Oil
Shop Now At JC Whitney
Shop Trunks or
Choose a category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks

MATTE BLACK TRAVEL TRUNKS#1 Selling Motorcycle Trunks in America!SAVE OVER $100! When compared to others at $194.99!You Won't Find This Trunk Priced Lower Anywhere!Easy to detach-trunk can be locked, unlocked and remov
Average Customer Rating:
4.096 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(197 Reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 197 reviews
5 Stars
71
4 Stars
92
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
181 of 197(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
120 Questions | 88 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Review 61 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice Carrier
February 22, 2013
By Boshdog
Pros: Lots of room
Cons: Inadequate hardware
"The travel trunk is roomy and carries a lot of things. Being able to take off of mount and carry is a plus also. I wish there was more hardware included as my luggage rack was barely long enough to accommodate the installation. The circular reflector in the back of the trunk is worthless. I replaced with a bicycle reflector."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 62 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great for price
February 11, 2013
By 460stroker
from effingham il
Pros: cheap
Cons: mounting is flimisy
"i bought the large case. got it in very good time, and box was in great shape. overall love it but the way the box mounts to the metal bracket im afraid it is goin to come appart goin down the road. so i drilled a hole in the bottem of the case through one of the mouning holes in bracket now is not goin anywhere. perfect product if u cant afford the 200 dollar vivi. just needs some very mimiumal upgrades."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 63 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice case, good price
February 5, 2013
By VFR4Lee
Pros: Fits Givi monokey rack
Cons: Iron cross logo, long red lens not reflective
"The case seem solidly made of pretty heavy duty plastic. I mounted it to a Givi Monokey rack, and it snaps on and locks like it was made for it, sweet. Took a 100 mile first test ride with it at up to 85 - 90 mph, and no vibration or wind issues at all. Hardly knew it was there.
My first one came badly damaged, a big hole in the lid corner, broken latch, etc. Totaled. Gee thanks Fedex. JC sent me new one no extra charge. And no, the broken one was not worth returning, they said. It could be disposed of. Makes it easy. Thanks, JC.
The iron cross thing pops off easily to be replaced by whatever you want, or nothing. I bought a roll of reflective tape for under the red lens too. Wish I'd had one of these years ago when all I had was a bike, no car. Would have meant less squashed loafs of bread. And a few things that escaped the back seat bungees over the years might still be mine. ;>)"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 64 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Delivered Broken
January 31, 2013
By AshAttack
from Canada
"Was excited to use this, but unfortunately the packaged got delivered with a crack in the top shell. Good price though. Me being located in Canada, it's not worth the money to return it."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
Review 65 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well
January 29, 2013
By Joe T
from PA
Pros: Price/Quality
Cons: Orange stripe/Medallion on top
"Works good on my bike. 600 miles and it looks like when I put it on. I painted the orange stripe with a spray can and got a Honda sticker off that auction place to cover the medallion. Fits my Qwest in it and doesn't look overly big on the bike. I can't find a negative."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 66 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bang for the buck
January 28, 2013
By Dave
from Portland, OR
Pros: Cheap, simple, easy to use
Cons: clasp mechanism is a little weak
"Overall good product. I was happy with the way it worked out and fit my bike. It was very inexpensive compared to most of the competitors. Its not quite up to par with the quality of the $300+ racks but for the money I don't think you can beat it."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 67 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not Bad
January 21, 2013
By mike
from Colorado
Pros: Price
Cons: Poor build quality.
"Screws into plastic crooked, loose or stripped. Still a pretty good deal for the price."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great purchase
January 15, 2013
By Anonymous
from mobile,al
"its the second trunk ive purchased from jcw,had the 1st one several years,knocked my bike over,cracked it,it was a smaller one,this time i got the bigger one,love it."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Universal? Not!
January 12, 2013
By Mrrrrk
Pros: low price
Cons: won't mount
"I realize that "universal" mount is always a bit of a stretch. But my bike does have a manufacturer's rack to use for mounting, and it is hardly an exotic (Suz VStrom). No way to make this item mount to that rack. Not very useful!"
Review 70 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great solid build
January 12, 2013
By Jess
Pros: Just about everything
Cons: Mount hardware a little weak
"All over solid could use more universal mounting hardware."
Review 71 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,easy install
January 12, 2013
By JustPlainBill0
from Carson City NV
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Holds a full face helmet plus.
Cons: Iron cross emblem & art deco design
"I like the size of this case, it holds a full face helmet and a little more and while it is thin and flimsy compared to factory luggage, Givi bags are thinner, as flimsy and a lot more costly.
The included rack adapted to my '06 FJR with a little effort and seems secure enough for the rated weight capacity of the case. I did move the foam from under the rack to above - between the case and rack. Now the case fits more tightly to the rack and no longer rattles. It's more confidence inspiring.
As for the 1940's art deco design and emblem: I replaced the top mounted Iron Cross with a 2 inch Yamaha tuning fork gel emblem from eBay. The "backrest" and red reflector were tossed and the holes filled with black plastic hole plugs from Lowes. Final enhancement was to paint the orange stripe around the sides and back, flat black like the rest of the trunk. Ready now for Spring!"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 72 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Misled by Fitment chart
January 11, 2013
By drolls
from Sacramento, CA
Pros: N/A
Cons: Doesn't work on my machine though this site said it would
"Well, let's just say that your site SAID it would fit my machine but it
does not work at all so now it is sitting in the garage. Waste of money.
Won't be shopping with you again.
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Cheap Topbox
January 11, 2013
By Anonymous
from Texas
"Definitely a great value. The only thing I did not like was the Maltese Cross logo, but that was easily resolved with a sicker."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 74 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not bad
January 11, 2013
By Gonzo
from New york, NY
Pros: Pretty sturdy
Cons: Orange strip and medallion with cross.
"I was happy with the large as I just wanted something not to pricey.Painted the orange strip black and removed reflector to replace white careboard under it with reflecter tape.Replaced plastic after I was done.. Also painted medallion black. Looks pretty good now and reflector shines now. Also placed a flat foam inside to cushion cargo.Got it cheaper but still a good price now."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 75 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trunk
January 11, 2013
By ADVRider
from Louisiana
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pros: Price, Size
Cons: None
"Installed on my 2008 KLR 650 and looks and works great. It can hold a large volume, but isn't too large for the bike."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value
January 5, 2013
By PSEUDOSENTIENT
from Orlando FL
Pros: Price
Cons: Details of construction
"For $45 I think this bag is a very good deal. From a distance it looks like any typical motorcycle luggage. When you get close you will notice flaws; there are small distortions and blemishes in the shell, and uneven remains of plastic flashing at the edges. Mine arrived with a small bit of plastic cracked off in one place too. The cross decal is coming unglued from the top, which is fine as I will remove it anyway. Overall, frankly, its a little rough. But for $45 shipped? That's a fantastic value for a working trunk bag. And none of this stuff is noticeable until you are within a foot or so of the bag surface. If you are a stickler for appearances you may want to move up in the price range, but if you just want a bag to put things in this will do the trick. Time will tell how it holds up to sunshine and vibration. I'm very pleased with my purchase. My kids love it too, because it gives them a backrest while riding with me."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 77 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good deal...but
December 27, 2012
By J. Hawkins
from 23321
Pros: Good value
Cons: weak latch system
"Great value for the money. Adapted easily to my 2001 ST1100. Box to rack latch didn't latch securely. I could remove it when it was locked! I added a bolt through the rack and box and use a cotter pin through it as a backup. My full face helmet fits but just barely."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Once a Year
Review 78 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garage Pro Tail Box
December 21, 2012
By dirtridertn
from Humboldt Tn
Pros: Inexpensive and good quality for the bucks.. I can buy 6 of these for the price of 1 GIVI
Cons: none
"I mounted this unit on my 07 Triumph Tiger and used a GIVI SR225 mounting rack for the bike....this Tail Box mounts directly to the GIVI mounting plate without any modification....NICE for the$46.00...."
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? Multiple Times a Year
Review 79 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value, fits on givi mount
December 7, 2012
By dan k
from chicago burbs, IL
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pros: fits on givi mount, roomy (fits at least 1 full face shoei rf1100)
Cons: none so far, i guess the iron cross and orange trim
"This is a great value. 40 bucks. I am not sure how well it will hold up over time, but as long as I don't have any valuables I think it will be fine. I love the fact that it's 1/4 the price of even the economy givi 46 L. That's great and it works fine. Highly recommended.
The givi mount is snug on it, but I prefer that to the mounting hardware kit it came with. But I have that as a backup now.
Pic of it on my sv650
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Garage Pro Universal Motorcycle Travel Trunks
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great top box
November 15, 2012
By oldbobbydrums71
from Lynn, IN
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Pros: very strong easy to mount the price excellent
Cons: none
"had several Givi Top Boxes not cheap, Looked on line found this one , Hold 2 helmets and more, Was impressed with this huge top box, 47.00 w/ Shipping looks like Givi and matter of fact it has heavier plastic then the the givi, Better then paying over 100.00 plus a mounting bracket from Givi, Wish I had found these much sooner, These look great and they are removable,
Thanks JC Whitney is on my 2008 Burgman 400 pic does not show it on
"
How often do you shop at JC Whitney.com? First Time